

Report on the 74th IIPF Congress in Tampere, Finland

The 74th Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance took place at the **University of Tampere** between **21 and 23 August, 2018** (with IIPF Board meeting and dinner taking place on 20 August). Around 430 delegates (plus 30 accompanying persons) from 35 countries attended the Congress with 73% of the attendees coming from Western Europe (of which 10% from Finland, 24% from Germany), 13% from North America, 10% from Japan and the rest from other regions of the world.

The theme of the congress, "The Impact of Public Policies on Labor Markets and Income Distribution", was highlighted by four plenary speakers: Gordon Dahl (University of California, San Diego) on "Intergenerational Spillovers in Disability Insurance", Henrik Kleven (Princeton University) on "Taxation and the Extensive Margin Reconsidered", Uta Schönberg (University College London) on "The Impact of Immigration on Regions and Workers" and Petra Todd (University of Pennsylvania) on "Incorporating Personality Traits Into Economic Models of Labor Supply, Education, and Occupational Choice".

The main body of the Congress consisted of 362 **contributed papers** – record number – out of 516 submissions – second highest number for IIPF congresses –, covering all topics within public economics. There were seven working group slots with up to 15 parallel sessions in each group. In total, 101 working group sessions with three or four papers were organised.

There were five **invited** or **special sessions**: one special session on "Misallocation and Public Policy", organized by the Bank of Finland, another one "on the Occasion of Matti Tuomala's Retirement"; two invited sessions on "Tax Compliance" and "Labor Market Functioning". The Scientific Chairs continued an innovation of the 2015 Congress and included (8) invited papers which were solicited by and organized into (2) sessions by members of the scientific committee. The fifth special session – without papers – devoted to "Implications of US Tax Reform for Europe", with Michael Deverex, Clemens Fuest, Michelle Hanlon and Victoria Perry as panellists on the podium; it was organized by the EconPol network.

The papers are available (until December 2018) on the website https://www.conftool.pro/iipf2018/sessions.php; the final program (updated print version, with abstracts) is available at http://www.iipf.org/cng18.htm.

The **Scientific Committee** was chaired by Eva Mörk (Uppsala University, Sweden) and Claus Thustrup Kreiner (University of Copenhagen, Denmark). Its members are listed below. As usual, a selection of contributed papers and plenary presentations will appear in a special issue of *International Tax and Public Finance* in 2019.

The 2018 **Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize** for the best paper contributed by authors under the age of 40 was awarded to Olle Folke and Johanna Rickne (Uppsala University and Stockholm University, Sweden) for their paper "All the Single Ladies: Job Promotions and the Durability of Marriage". The IIPF gave one **Young Economists Award** at this Congress 2018: to Daniel Reck (London School of Economics, UK; presenting author) and Jacob Goldin (Stanford Law School, USA) for their paper "Optimal Defaults with Normative Ambiguity". Another prize given at this congress was the **ITAX PhD Student Award**, introduced in 2017 by the journal *International Tax and Public Finance (ITAX)*. The 2018 award was given to Juliana Londono-Velez (University of California at Berkeley, USA) for her paper "Can Wealth Taxation Work in Developing Countries? Quasi-Experimental Evidence from Colombia" (co-authored with Javier Avila). 70 of the papers presented at the Congress applied for the IIPF awards, and 64 for the *ITAX* award.

The **Local Organizing Committee** was chaired by Kaisa Kotakorpi (University of Turku & VATT Institute for Economic Research) and included the following further members: Jani-Petri Laamanen, Matti Tuomala, Elina Tuominen (University of Tampere), Essi Eerola (VATT Institute for Economic Research), Tuomas Kosonen (Labour Institute for Economic Research) and Jukka Pirttilä (University of Tampere and University of Helsinki). A professional congress organizer (Tavicon) took care of all administrative matters and support of participants.

The welcome reception on the first congress day was held at the Tampere Old City Hall. On the middle day, delegates had the choice between three excursions, two walking tours or a boat trip. The third and last congress day was concluded by a Conference Dinner in the Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere, with entertainment provided by a contemporary music group from Finland. The **social program** makes the IIPF congresses special, giving the participants an excellent opportunity to meet colleagues and chat in an informal atmosphere, and to strengthen relations between IIPF members.

The Congress was co-hosted by the universities of Tampere and Turku, the VATT Institute for Economic Research and the Labour Institute for Economic Research and supported by the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation, the Employees' Foundation, Bank of Finland, the Ministry of Finance, Finnish Cultural Foundation, the Nordic Tax Research Council and the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies, and the City of Tampere. We would like to thank all **hosts, supporters and donors** for their generous contribution to the Congress.

September 2018

Kaisa Kotakorpi (University of Turku and VATT Institute for Economic Research, Finland), Chair of the Local Organizing Committee

Eva Mörk (Uppsala University, Sweden) and Claus Thustrup Kreiner (University of Copenhagen, Denmark), Chairs of the Scientific Committee

In addition to the chairs, the Scientific Committee included 31 members: David Agrawal (University of Kentucky, US), Spencer Bastani (Linnæus University, Sweden), Jacob Bastian (University of Chicago, US), Massimo Bordignon (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy), Matz Dahlberg (Uppsala University, Sweden), Mikael Elinder (Uppsala University, Sweden), Jon H. Fiva (Norwegian Business School, Norway), Francois Gerard (Columbia University, US), Joshua D. Gottlieb (University of British Columbia, Canada), Makoto Hasegawa (Kyoto University, Japan), Kristiina Huttunen (VATT Institute for Economic Research, Finland), Martin Jacob (WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management, Germany), Bas Jacobs (Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands), Niels Johannesen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark), Shanjun Li (Cornell University, US), Benjamin B. Lockwood (Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, US), Jorge Martinez-Vazquez (Georgia State University, US), Linda Nøstbakken (Norwegian School of Economics, Norway), Andrea Repetto (Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez, Chile), Kerstin Roeder (Augsburg University, Germany), Dominik Sachs (University of Munich, Germany), Melinda Sandler Morrill (North Carolina State University, US), Carlos Scartascini (Inter-American Development Bank, US), Alexander Sebald (University of Copenhagen, Denmark), Håkan Selin (Institute for Evaluation of Labour Market and Education Policy, Sweden), Monica Singhal (University of California, Davis, US), Michael Stimmelmayr (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology [ETH] Zurich, Switzerland), Ragnar Torvik (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway), Juuso Vanhala (Bank of Finland, Finland), Daniel Waldenström (Paris School of Economics, France), Binzhen Wu (Tsinghua University, China)

The **Award Committee** for IIPF awards consisted of the Scientific Chairs Eva Mörk and Claus Thustrup Kreiner, Board member Annette Alstadsæter and Scientific Committee member Benjamin Lockwood. The committee for the ITAX PhD Student Award consisted of the three *ITAX* editors Ron Davies, Sara LaLumia, and Kimberley Scharf.